PerfectPattern
This website requires Javascript, to work properly.

KAYROS

Cognitive Production Planning

KAYROS is a technology for dynamic production planning. It plans any order pool on the most complex production networks with the aim of minimizing setup costs, meeting deadlines, using existing tools efficiently and much more. The underlying AI technology enables KAYROS to achieve very high calculation quality within very short calculation times.

The challenge of production planning

In industrial production, planning is often still done manually - for example, when which job is to be produced on which machine and how. This approach is increasingly coming up against its limits in today's world, as production must become more flexible and faster. The result is that delivery dates are not met, set-up costs are unnecessarily high and optimization potential is unused.

So far, automatic, algorithmic approaches could only provide a limited remedy, because they are either too slow or too inflexible.

The solution is called KAYROS

The KAYROS technology developed by PerfectPattern enables dynamic production planning - at lightning speed and with maximum precision.

KAYROS plans any number of job pools, even on complex production networks, with the aim of minimizing setup costs, ensuring that deadlines are met and much more.

The special capabilities of KAYROS lie in its ability to solve non-linear decision problems with a very large number of conflicting parameters in a very short time.

Benefits

Cost saving

In the optimized production planning, raw material costs are weighed against setup costs. The result is a compromise that minimizes both setup costs and raw material consumption.

Adherence to delivery dates

KAYROS schedules the complete order pool in a very short time. As a result, potential capacity bottlenecks become visible very early on and can thus be avoided. This creates scope for decision-making and ensures that deadlines are met.

Agility

Thanks to KAYROS' short computing times, even for very complex production scenarios, it is possible to react agilely and comprehensively even to short-term changes in production. Thus, even when things get a bit tight, good decisions are still made.

Flexibility

KAYROS has its own language for modeling and describing virtually any machine. This flexibility allows KAYROS to model even the most specific machine engineering requirements.

Tool Management

KAYROS controls the efficient use of special production tools, which are only available in limited quantities and are needed at different times at different points in the production network.

Transportmanagement

KAYROS knows the exact structure of the production network. This enables it to take transport routes into account and ensures that the transport distances of materials between the machines are also minimized.

Production alternatives

KAYROS itself finds the most efficient production for its products. It independently considers all possible production alternatives that meet the requirements of the product and picks the most efficient.

The KAYROS Principle

KAYROS models the flow of orders through the production network and calculates the current optimal production plan. Through the underlying modeling, KAYROS knows which products can be produced on which machines with maximum time and cost efficiency. Thanks to its dynamic nature, the system adapts spontaneously to unforeseeable influences such as machine failures and compensates for them by rescheduling.

Modeling of machines

In KAYROS, each machine can be modeled in such a way that all parameters relevant to production planning are taken into account. This is based on the following aspects:

  1. A machine can be put into different states by changeover procedures. This can also mean switching certain modules on or off or removing them. A changeover procedure costs time, money and possibly raw material resources.
  2. In any state the machine can perform certain processes. Each process costs time and money. For the calculation, the processes can be linked to aspects such as the number of pieces per hour, an area per time or other measurable variables.
  3. Every process that the machine performs fulfills certain requirements that a product has.
  4. It is also possible to specify the transport routes between certain machines or machine parts that KAYROS should consider.

By modeling a machine, KAYROS creates a digital image of the real machine, which has the same capabilities as the original and generates the same costs. Now KAYROS needs the information when the machines are available.

Equally important is the continuous feedback of each machine to KAYROS about its current condition. This enables KAYROS to react accordingly if, for example, a machine breaks down and switch to other, possibly more expensive capacities. Here the rule is: the more up-to-date the information, the better the result.

Modeling of products

Each product is recorded in KAYROS as the sum of individual production steps. In each production step, the product or part of the product is brought into a new state by a process that is closer to the final product. Each product or product component has specific requirements which have to be fulfilled during the production process and often in a specific order.

Another input for KAYROS are the orders. As soon as a new order is received, it must be transmitted to KAYROS. KAYROS will then schedule this order according to its priority and adjust the production schedule accordingly.


KAYROS was developed to be the backbone of a Smart Factory.


The decision making process

KAYROS has a powerful decision making technology. Based on global target functions, it makes the relevant decisions for dynamic production planning quickly and precisely.

KAYROS follows the concept of "Prescriptive Analytics". In contrast to "Predictive Analytics", this means that not only predictions about expected behavior are made, but that decisions are made that move a system in a desired direction.

The special capabilities of KAYROS lie in its ability to solve decision problems in a very short time, which are non-linear and contain a very large number of conflicting influencing parameters.

The learning system

In the industrial environment, continuous methods can usually not be applied - the decision space is incredibly large, and in addition, the objective functions show massive leaps even in small areas of the decision space. KAYROS explicitly constructs the next decision from the learned objectives in order to achieve the given global goals. This process is called Constructive Reinforcement Learning

KAYROS uses input data and functional relationships that define the system to be calculated (the factory). These are for example orders, priorities, machine capabilities and speed etc. or also probabilities of occurrence of certain events like machine failures or similar. Based on these data and models, KAYROS uses Constructive Reinforcement Learning to calculate a production plan. This plan contains precise instructions for controlling a factory.

How to use KAYROS

Downloads

Flyer_KAYROS_E.pdf

© 2020 PerfectPattern GmbH

PerfectPattern
Bitte aktivieren Sie Javascript, um diese Seite korrekt darzustellen.

KAYROS

Cognitive Production Planning

KAYROS ist eine Technologie zur dynamischen Produktionsplanung. KAYROS verplant beliebige Auftragspools auf komplexeste Produktionsnetzwerke mit dem Ziel, die Rüstkosten zu minimieren, die Termine einzuhalten, die vorhandenen Werkzeuge effizient einzusetzen und vieles mehr. Die zugrundeliegende AI Technologie ermöglicht KAYROS dabei höchste Berechnungsqualität bei kürzesten Rechenzeiten.

Herausforderung Produktionsplanung

In der industriellen Produktion wird vielfach noch manuell geplant – zum Beispiel, wann welcher Auftrag auf welcher Maschine auf welche Weise produziert werden soll. Diese Vorgehensweise stößt in der heutigen Zeit zunehmend an Grenzen, schließlich muss immer flexibler und schneller produziert werden. Das Resultat sind geplatzte Liefertermine, unnötig hohe Rüstkosten und ungenutzte Optimierungspotentiale.

Automatische, algorithmische Ansätze konnten hier bisher auch nur begrenzt Abhilfe schaffen, da sie entweder zu langsam oder zu unflexible sind.

Die Lösung heißt KAYROS

Die von PerfectPattern entwickelte KAYROS-Technologie ermöglicht die dynamische Planung der Produktion – blitzschnell und in höchster Präzision.

KAYROS verplant beliebige Auftragspools auch auf komplexe Produktionsnetzwerke mit dem Ziel, die Rüstkosten zu minimieren, die Einhaltung der Termine sicherzustellen und vieles mehr.

Die besonderen Fähigkeiten von KAYROS liegen darin, dass es in sehr kurzer Zeit Entscheidungsprobleme lösen kann, die nichtlinear sind und eine sehr große Anzahl einander entgegenstehender Einflussparameter beinhalten.

Vorteile

Kostenersparnis

In der optimierten Produktionsplanung werden Rohstoffaufwände gegen Rüstaufwände abgewogen. Das Resultat ist ein Kompromiss der sowohl die Rüstkosten als auch den Rohstoffverbrauch minimiert.

Termintreue

KAYROS verplant den kompletten Auftragspool in kürzester Zeit. Dadurch werden potentielle Kapazitätsengpässe schon sehr früh sichtbar und können so umschifft werden. Dies schafft Entscheidungsspielräume und sichert die Termineinhaltung.

Agilität

Durch die kurzen Rechenzeiten von KAYROS selbst für sehr komplexe Produktionsszenarien kann agil und umfassend auch auf kurzfristige Änderungen in der Produktion reagiert werden. So werden auch dann noch gute Entscheidugen getroffen, wenn es mal etwas eng wird.

Flexibilität

KAYROS besituzt eine eigene Sprache zum Modellieren und Beschreiben quasi beliebiger Maschinen. Durch diese Flexibilität kann KAYROS selbst die speziellsten maschinentechnischen Anforderungen abbilden.

Werkzeugmanagement

KAYROS regelt den effizienten Einsatz spezieller Produktionswerkzeuge, die nur begrenzte zur Verfügung stehen und zu verschiedenen Zeiten an verschiedenen Stellen des Produktionsnetzwerkes benötigt werden.

Transportmanagement

KAYROS kennt den genauen Aufbau des Produktionsnetzwerkes. Dadurch kann es auch die Transportwege berücksichtigen und sorgt dafür, dass auch die Transportwege der Materialien zwischen den Maschinen minimiert werden.

Produktionsalternativen

KAYROS findet selbt die effizienteste Produktion für die Produkte. Dabei zieht es alle möglichen Produktionsalternativen selbständig in Erwägung, die die vom Produkt gestellten Anforderungen erfüllen.

Das KAYROS-Prinzip

KAYROS modelliert den Fluss der Bestellungen durch das Produktionsnetzwerk und berechnet daraus stets den aktuell optimalen Produktionsplan. Durch die zugrunde liegende Modellierung weiß KAYROS, welche Produkte auf welchen Maschinen mit höchster Zeit- und Kosteneffizienz produziert werden können. Dank seiner dynamischen Natur passt sich das System spontan an unvorhersehbare Einflüsse wie Maschinenausfälle an und kompensiert diese durch Umplanung.

Modellierung von Maschinen

In KAYROS kann jede Maschine so modelliert werden, dass alle Parameter berücksichtigt werden, die für die Produktionsplanung relevant sind. Dabei werden folgende Aspekte zugrunde gelegt:

  1. Eine Maschine kann durch Umrüstvorgänge in verschiedene Zustände versetzt werden. Dies kann auch bedeuten, gewisse Module an- bzw. auszuschalten oder herauszunehmen. Ein Umrüstvorgang kostet Zeit, Geld und evtl. Rohstoffressourcen.
  2. In jedem Zustand kann die Maschine gewisse Prozesse ausführen. Jeder Prozess kostet Zeit und Geld. Für die Berechnung können die Prozesse an Aspekte wie die Stückzahl pro Stunde, eine Fläche pro Zeit oder andere messbare Größen gekoppelt sein.
  3. Jeder Prozess, den die Maschine ausführt, erfüllt bestimmte Anforderungen, die ein Produkt hat.
  4. Dabei können auch die Transportwege zwischen bestimmten Maschinen oder Maschinenteilen angegeben werden, die KAYROS berücksichtigen soll.

Durch die Modellierung einer Maschine entsteht in KAYROS ein digitales Abbild der echten Maschine, das dieselben Fähigkeiten besitzt wie das Original und die gleichen Kosten erzeugt. Nun benötigt KAYROS noch die Informationen, wann die Maschinen zur Verfügung stehen.

Ebenso wichtig ist das kontinuierliche Feedback jeder Maschine zu ihrem aktuellen Zustand an KAYROS. So kann KAYROS entsprechend reagieren, wenn beispielsweise eine Maschine ausfällt, und auf andere, eventuell teurere Kapazitäten ausweichen. Hier gilt: Je aktueller die Informationen, desto besser das Ergebnis.

Modellierung von Produkten

Jedes Produkt wird in KAYROS als Summe einzelner Produktionsschritte erfasst. In jedem Produktionsschritt wird das Produkt oder ein Teil des Produktes durch einen Prozess in einen neuen Zustand versetzt, der näher am Endprodukt liegt. Jedes Produkt oder jeder Produktbestandteil hat dabei bestimmte Anforderungen, welche im Laufe der Produktion und oft auch in einer bestimmten Reihenfolge erfüllt werden müssen.

Ein weiterer Input für KAYROS sind die Bestellungen. Sobald ein neuer Auftrag eingeht, muss dieser an KAYROS übermittelt werden. KAYROS wird diese Bestellung dann entsprechend ihrer Priorität einplanen und den Produktionsplan entsprechend anpassen.


KAYROS wurde entwickelt, um das Rückrat einer Smart Factory zu sein.


Die Entscheidungsfindung

KAYROS verfügt über eine leistungsfähige Decision Making-Technologie. Diese trifft basierend auf globalen Zielfunktionen schnell und präzise die für die dynamische Produktionsplanung relevanten Entscheidungen.

Dabei folgt KAYROS dem Konzept von „Prescriptive Analytics“. Im Gegensatz zu „Predictive Analytics“ bedeutet dies, dass nicht nur Vorhersagen über ein erwartetes Verhalten gemacht werden, sondern dass Entscheidungen getroffen werden, die ein System in eine gewünschte Richtung bewegen.

Die besonderen Fähigkeiten von KAYROS liegen darin, dass es in sehr kurzer Zeit Entscheidungs-probleme lösen kann, die nichtlinear sind und eine sehr große Anzahl einander entgegenstehender Einflussparameter beinhalten.

Das lernende System

Im industriellen Umfeld können kontinuierliche Methoden meistens nicht angewendet werden – der Entscheidungsraum ist unglaublich groß, und zudem weisen die Zielfunktionen auch in kleinen Bereichen des Entscheidungsraums massive Sprünge auf. KAYROS konstruiert aus den gelernten Zielen explizit die nächste Entscheidung, um so die vorgegebenen globalen Ziele zu erreichen. Dieses Verfahren wird als Constructive Reinforcement Learning bezeichnet.

KAYROS greift dabei auf Inputdaten sowie funktionale Zusammenhänge zurück, die das zu berechnende System (die Fabrik) definieren. Dies sind etwa Bestellungen, Prioritäten, Maschinenfähigkeiten und -geschwindigkeit etc. oder auch Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeiten gewisser Ereignisse wie Maschinenausfälle oder ähnliches. Auf Basis dieser Daten und Modelle nutzt KAYROS Constructive Reinforcement Learning um einen Produktionsplan zu berechnen. Dieser Plan enthält präzise Anweisungen zur Steuerung einer Fabrik.

KAYROS nutzen

Downloads

Flyer_KAYROS_D.pdf

© 2020 PerfectPattern GmbH